Ocean Physics And Modelling Group

University of Athens
Division of Environmental Physics

Example HR
The Ocean Physics And Modelling (OPAM) group belongs to the Division of Envrironmental Physics of the University of Athens, Greece. The research activities of the group are focused on various aspects of the Physical Oceanography of the Mediterranean Sea and its sub-basins. For a number of years the main focus was the study of the general circulation, the deep and intermediate water formation processes and the interaction of the Mediterranean Sea with the atmosphere on various time scales, from seasonal to climatic. Both data analysis and numerical modeling are used as tools for those studies. A special webpage on the Aegean Sea Research is available with historical and online profiling float data in the basin. In recent years, the group has also been involved in operational oceanography of the Mediterranean Sea and more specifically of the Eastern Mediterranean with the development of a high-resolution operational numerical model called the ALERMO (Aegean Levantine Eddy Resolving Model). Nested in ALERMO, and coupled with an oilspill monitoring/forecasting application is the Nort Aegean Forecasting activity. It is also involved in the study of the transport of Saharan dust within the Mediterranean Sea following its atmospheric deposition. Finally, the group developed recently the TRITON wave forecast system which goes from Global to Regional down to Coastal. This system has been developed in cooperation with the Atmospheric Modelling and Weather Forecast group of our Department.


Professor Alex Lascaratos (alasc@oc.phys.uoa.gr)

Research Staff

Dr. Sarantis Sofianos (sofianos@oc.phys.uoa.gr)
Dr. Nikos Skliris (nskliris@oc.phys.uoa.gr)
Dr. Anneta Mantziafou (amand@oc.phys.uoa.gr)

Graduate Students

Matheos Papadakis (mpapa@oc.phys.uoa.gr)
Vasilis Vervatis (vervatis@oc.phys.uoa.gr)

Giorgos Papadakis (gpapa@oc.phys.uoa.gr)
Nikos Aspiotis(nasp@oc.phys.uoa.gr)
Giorgos Krokos (krokos@oc.phys.uoa.gr)
Margarita Tzali (tzali@oc.phys.uoa.gr)
Nikos Tsitouras (ntsit@oc.phys.uoa.gr)
Thanasis Ganasos (thgan@oc.phys.uoa.gr)
Panagiotis Tsonis (tsonis@oc.phys.uoa.gr)
Nikos Patsourakis (nickpats@oc.phys.uoa.gr)
Stavroula Mpiri (sbiri@oc.phys.uoa.gr)

Ex-staff and Research associates

Panos Drakopoulos (pdrak@imbc.gr).  Now at the Institute of Marine Biology of Crete.
Gerasimos Korres (gerasim@oc.phys.uoa.gr). Now at the National Centre of Marine Research.
Kostas Nittis (knittis@poseidon.ncmr.gr).  Now at the National Centre of Marine Research.
Leonidas Perivoliotis (lperiv@poseidon.ncmr.gr).  Now at the National Centre of Marine Research.
Elina Tragou (tragou@poseidon.ncmr.gr).  Now at the National Centre of Marine Research.
Ourania Paranihianaki (rpara@oc.phys.uoa.gr)

Example HR




Contact Information

Example HR
Example HR

This page is maintained by Sarantis Sofianos (sofianos@oc.phys.uoa.gr)
Last changed January, 2008.